Come to Hillel’s Shabbat Seder this Friday the 2nd of April 2010!

We will be starting promptly at 7:30pm, but feel free to arrive earlier.

Hillel will provide beef brisquet and vegetarian matzoh ball soup as main dishes, so everyone can eat.

This is a potluck, so please bring something that is a kosher for passover meat or pareve dish. We will explain what these things mean below.

If the dish you bring needs warming up, we will have the Longhouse Cedar Room kitchen to do so. The kitchen will be available by 6:30pm, so arrive between then and 7:30pm.

Please RSVP by Thursday, 9am, at the latest to reserve your spot at our Seder table. You can RSVP on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=105119429523785, or by email to hillel@evergreenhillel.org

We look forward to reliving the Exodus from Egypt with you. :)

As far as food goes:
“Kosher for passover” means that it will have no “chametz”. What does this mean? Chametz is any food product made from wheat, barley, rye, oats, spelt, or their derivatives, which has leavened (risen). As dictated by the Torah, if a food contains even a trace of chametz, we don’t eat it, we don’t derive benefit from it, and we make sure not to have any of it in our possession for all the days of Passover. If something was processed or made on the same equipment as chametz products, those also cannot be eaten.

Foods that are neither meat nor dairy are called “pareve”, “parve”, or “paravine” in Judaism. This means that they contain absolutely no meat or dairy derivatives, and have not been cooked or mixed with any meat or dairy foods. The reason behind needing to know if foods are pareve or not is that Jewish law prohibits mixing meat and milk. Pareve foods can be eaten together with either meat or dairy foods.

Common pareve foods are eggs, fish, fruit, vegetables, grains and juices in their natural, unprocessed state. Processed pareve foods typically include pasta, soft drinks, coffee and tea, and many types of candy and snacks. Processed products, however, must have reliable kashruth supervision. Dark chocolate might be pareve; milk chocolate definitely is not.

b’Shalom,

Anneke